Student Spotlight: Edgar Chimal R

24 Oct

Meet Edgar! Edgar is a senior majoring in MIS and Marketing. He is an intern this semester at Box Command (QBOS Inc.), and is working on technical solutions for CrossFit.

edgar chimal

Q: Tell us about your job/internship!

A: I’m the system administrator for Box Command and I work in the implementation department. My duties include the following: Sells leads and closings, database management, service implementation, programming, and a little bit of social media marketing.

Q: How did you find out about this opportunity?

A: My girlfriend’s boss referred me to QBOS Inc. After my girlfriend introduced me to her boss, Rebecca Cap Mertens, we had a very exciting talk about what she was doing at PCI (publishing concepts). It really intrigued me how she was working with algorithms, so I told her about my experience as a young entrepreneur, and then she said that my skills could be of good use for one her friends, Jim Lord the CEO of QBOS inc.

Q: What was the interview process like?

A: After a week I received a call from an interviewer, and we both agreed to a time and a date to arrange the first phase, a phone interview. That Wednesday came, and I received the call sharply at 1:00 pm. The questions varied from experience in the technology and business field, my desire about learning more, projects that I’ve done, and how much I knew about CrossFit.

Q: What is the best part about your internship?

A: I LOVE all the knowledge that I’m acquiring, and the network that I’m creating, because all of that helps to make my skills sharper every single day, in every single talk, and in every single sale. But I think that one of the best things about my job is that I go and do my workouts at a CrossFit gym for free. The reason is that my company has a strong commitment for team-building exercises, and I actually just did my first 5K race with them, and scored 6th place within my category!

Q: What do you want to be when you grow up? Did this experience confirm your career goal, or have you changed your mind?

A: I’m business blooded human, maybe it’s the way I have been raised, but it’s in my nature to seek opportunities, and take advantage of them. I’ve dreamed that one day I will have my own chain of restaurants, surprising right? I’m a proud Mexican who loves to be in the kitchen as well, and at the same time I fall for fixing cars, and I currently have certifications for that. I also enjoy learning other languages, but not without knowing the culture behind it. This experience is teaching me more than I could have thought of, but I still have in mind my restaurants. However I plan to stay with this company for a while and grow professionally to test myself and strengthen my skills.

Q: What advice do you have for other job seekers?

A: Probably you’ve heard of this already, and you just acted like you know that already because you have Facebook, Google circles, and LinkedIn. Yes, those are VERY helpful tools, however, when you happen to meet one a person face-to-face, do you know how to be yourself rather than how to act? It’s very important to learn how to develop networks and how to have good conversations. Each conversation matters, it’s a chance to make an impression, and not only in the business world first impressions matter a lot; There’s the saying that I modified a little bit “it’s not what you know, but who you know” that remembers you. It’s about transcending into others.

Q: Any other comments to share?

A: I try to live to the fullest every day, I don’t miss opportunities ever, and I learn as much as I can, not only from my classes, but from every person I met. I’m very friendly, and I don’t harm anybody. Everyone has their own way to enjoy life, and that’s how I enjoy mine-building true friendships that will support you when you need is also part of my personality. I may be too young for all of what I do, some say that it’s too much, but I have a reason to do as much as I can –  “you never know if you will be here again tomorrow.” That’s my main push, and if I have made it this far it’s because I kept trying, and all that hard work pays-off back sooner or later.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,258 other followers

