Staff Spotlight: Janie Shipman

Meet Janie! She is a Career Counselor who recently celebrated her 10 year anniversary of working at UT Dallas!

Q: Where did you go to school?

A: I have an Associates from Palm Beach Community College, my Bachelors in English and Secondary Education from Florida Atlantic University, and my M. Ed. in Counseling from UNT. 

Q: So were you ever a teacher?

A: No, I got all the way to my last semester of school and did my student teaching, which was awful. It was a rude awakening after being so focused on getting my degree. I realized that teaching was not a good fit, and it was a terrible experience. It’s similar to some student that I work with who realize that going to medical school isn’t right for them.

Q: What is your role in the Career Center?

A: As a Career Counselor, I help all students (graduate, undergraduate, and alumni) with anything to do with finding a career. I help with Career Assessments that student can use if they are like I was and need to find what fits best for them. I help with the job search process, interviewing, resume writing – anything that the student needs!

Q: What is your favorite part of your job?

A: I have two favorites. My most favorite thing is to see a student experience that “A-Ha” moment, when it all comes together and the student finds the direction that they need. I love it! I get just as excited as they do. My other favorite is knowing that when a student leaves my office, they have gotten what they need to move forward with a positive outlook.

Q: What is one thing that you wish students knew more about?

A: I wish students knew and understood that the Career Center is here to help them with everything. Students are sometimes not aware that we even exist! I feel that we are the most important service for students to connect with – and I take that from my own perspective. I wish that I had known that there were people there to help me when I had my last semester freak out before I graduated. I wish that students would use our services earlier. I would love to see students come in as freshmen and let us help them all along the way.

I also want students to realize that they are in charge of their careers. They can be selective. I want each student to find a job where everything that they do matches who they are, where their skills are maximized, and where it’s not all about the money (although that can be important). I feel that way about my job. It’s part of who I am!

Q: Just for fun – what is one thing that you are obsessed with right now?

A: Cooking! And anything on the Food Network (except Gordon Ramsey). I love to try new recipes and cook with new ingredients and techniques. My favorite thing is the challenge of cooking something new and having it turn out just as good as something from a restaurant!

To make an appointment for Career Counseling, call the Career Center at 972-883-2943.

Staff Spotlight: Janie Shipman

Leave a Reply

