Student Spotlight: Jonathan House

Meet Jonathan! He is a UT Dallas grad with a B.A. in Art and Performance. Jonathan recently landed a job as a Graphic Designer at Enseo.

jonathan house

Q: Tell us about your job:

A: My title is Graphic Designer within the marketing department. We design hospitality in-room entertainment and digital signage. For hotel guests, it’s the first thing they see when they turn on the television. I, in addition with other designers and engineers, work with a software designed in-house to create and edit the user interfaces installed on boxes we market to hoteliers. In addition, I handle collateral design work that includes marketing material and creating trademarked logos featured at the Consumer Electronics Show (CES) 2014 in Las Vegas.

Q: How did you find out about this opportunity?

A: I found out about this opportunity through the Career Center at UT Dallas, on the CometCareers website.

Q: What was the interview process like?

A: The overall interview process for this job was long, but the interviews themselves were relatively relaxed and casual, while still being professional. After my first interview, I was given a design test. Design tests are very common when interviewing for creative roles. After submitting the design, some time passed before my second interview, where we discussed pay, schedule and other specifics. Both interviews were conducted by two people.

Q: What is the best part about your job?

A: Working with other creative people. We are in close communication with each other, which helps everyone be on the same page. Another thing about my job that I love is seeing the results of my work being used by other people and companies.

Q: What did you want to be when you grow up? Did this experience confirm your career goal, or have you changed your mind?

A: I always wanted to be an animator for Industrial Light and Magic in California, and be part of making movies. As I grew up, I started thinking of similar creative careers locally, and eventually had my eyes set on graphic design. I think my career is very similar to what I always wanted to do when I was a kid.

Q: What advice do you have for other job seekers?

A:

  • Make it a priority to get an internship while in college. As hard as it is to find a job, especially related to one’s major, having that experience can only help your career search.
  • Network as much as possible. Have a strong online presence with LinkedIn; go to networking conferences and career fairs. If you have a specific career in mind, find people with those occupations and ask them about their path to that job. Find creative ways to stand out above hundreds of other applicants.
  • Have your resume critiqued by a professional at the Career Center. Learn what employers look for in a resume, and tailor it for the specific interview.

Congrats on landing your new job Jonathan!

Student Spotlight: Jonathan House

Leave a Reply

