Student Spotlight: Sophia Miao

Meet Sophia! She is a senior EMAC student and she is interning with Systemates, Inc.

miao-sophia

Q: Tell us about your internship.

A: I work at a local technology company near UT Dallas called Systemates, Inc. They are a technology leader in the construction industry through their construction management software, Projectmates. My position here is the Marketing Assistant. The main duties and responsibilities I have include:

  • creating portal pages for our clients using Adobe Photoshop
  • coding those portal pages through Microsoft Expression
  • editing tutorial videos over our software using Camtasia Studio
  • putting together videos with footage taken from tradeshows and conferences
  • making graphics for our Social Media pages

Although my title is the Marketing Assistant, I also work closely with all of our departments, including our marketing, sales, support, and programming team depending on what project I am working on.

Q: How did you find out about this opportunity?

A: I found this position listed on the UT Dallas CometCareers site!

Q: What was the interview process like?

A: Two people interviewed me simultaneously, the hiring manager and the implementation manager. There were three parts to the interview. In the first part of the interview, I showed them my portfolio and told them about the skills that I possess. After that, I was given a Photoshop test, where I was given 20 minutes to make a web banner example like the ones shown on their website. Lastly, I was taken into the conference room, where the hiring manager discussed potential times that I could work.

Q: What is the best part about your internship?

A: In the beginning, I found this job listed as a part time job on CometCareers. However, since this part time job had a lot to do with my current major, I was able to transform it into an internship upon request and got to take the internship course here at UT Dallas along with it. Another great thing about this internship was that it broadened my views on what I wanted to do with my career. At first I was strictly aiming on becoming a graphic designer and web designer. However, after being exposed to higher level video editing at this internship, I now want to go into multimedia. Finally, the fact that the company uses Skype to communicate within the workplace gave it a comfortable, friendly atmosphere.

Q: What do you want to be when you grow up? Did this experience confirm your career goal, or have you changed your mind?

A: My internship with Systemates, Inc. has changed my career plans from wanting to be a graphic designer and web designer to wanting to work with multimedia in general, including video editing. I never knew I would love video as much as I do now if it weren’t for my opportunity with Projectmates!

Q: What advice do you have for other job seekers?

A: For the career field that I am going forward in (I’m sure it applies with other majors as well), the most important thing that I learned while job hunting was to include these three essential things in your e-mail to the hiring manager:

  1. Your resume
  2. Your portfolio
  3. Your class schedule

The resume is a given. However, not everyone remembers the other two. When you have something to show in your portfolio, be it a PDF file or a digital portfolio online, it shows that you are well prepared for the interviewing process. Including your class schedule also shows that you are well prepared. This is so that upon interview, the employer can automatically sit down with the potential employee and discuss a work schedule in a more efficient and hassle-free way.
Make sure that you also do some research over the company that you are interviewing for prior to your appointment.

If the interviewer asks, “Do you have any questions for us?” I’m sure they would love it if you asked about their company culture or talk about something you have learned from researching their company.

Lastly, always be confident in your abilities and your skills. Interviewers love to see that, even if you’re still learning!

 

Student Spotlight: Sophia Miao

One thought on “Student Spotlight: Sophia Miao

  1. Hey great blog! Does running a blog like this take a great deal of work?
    I have virtually no expertise in computer programming
    but I was hoping to start my own blog in the near future.
    Anyways, should you have any ideas or tips for new blog owners please share.
    I understand this is off topic nevertheless I simply had to ask.
    Many thanks!

Leave a Reply

